CAD_radtour_schleuse_leysiel_web_72.jpg

Cycle tour East Frisia

Bike tour to the Leysiel floodgate

Distance: 29.5 km | Duration: 3:00 h | Difficulty: medium

The tour takes you along the outer dike with a view over the Wadden Sea to the Leysiel floodgate. Don't forget your camera, because there are some beautiful photo motifs on this route. Please note that the dike cycle path can only be used at weekends. During the week, the route is closed due to dike works.

CAD_radtour_schleuse_leysiel_web_53.jpg

Click here to see the route.

We recommend the Outdooractive app for hiking, cycling and more.

Google Play Store.png
App Store.png
 

Salty, healthy sea air, a sky stretching to the horizon, grazing sheep – enjoy the endless expanse of the East Frisian North Sea coast on a quiet ride with a fresh breeze on the western outer dike. The route takes you through a sheep grazing area along the dike, past the Pilsum lighthouse towards Greetsiel.

CAD_radtour_schleuse_leysiel_web_09.jpg
CAD_radtour_schleuse_leysiel_web_01.jpg

As the headwind on the dike can be very strong, an e-bike is recommended for this tour – even for sporty cyclists – which you can rent at our campsite.

The destination – the Leysiel floodgate – is at the tip of the headland near the Ley Bay. The floodgate was completed together with the Leysiel flood barrier in 1991 and is the only way out of Greetsiel harbour into the North Sea. Here you can watch fish and shrimp boats in the evening and take a snack break.

CAD_radtour_schleuse_leysiel_web_68.jpg

Your Feedback

Did you enjoy the tour?
Share your experiences with us:
feedback@fbcamping.de

CAD_radtour_schleuse_leysiel_web_72.jpg

Radtour Ostfriesland

Radtour zur Schleuse Leysiel

Strecke: 29,5 km | Dauer: 3:00 h | Schwierigkeit: mittel

Diese Tour führt Sie über den Außendeich mit Blick auf das Wattenmeer zur Schleuse Leysiel. Vergessen Sie ihre Kamera nicht, denn es gibt einige schöne Fotomotive auf dieser Route. Bitte beachten Sie, dass der Deichradweg nur am Wochenende befahren werden kann. Unter der Woche ist die Strecke aufgrund von Deicharbeiten gesperrt.

CAD_radtour_schleuse_leysiel_web_53.jpg

Hier geht es zur Route.

Wir empfehlen die Outdooractive App fürs Wandern, Radfahren und mehr.

Google Play Store.png
App Store.png
 

Salzig gesunde Meeresluft, ein Himmel bis zum Horizont, grasende Schafe – genießen Sie die endlose Weite der ostfriesischen Nordseeküste bei einer ruhigen Fahrt mit frischer Brise auf dem westlichen Außendeich. Die Route führt Sie durch ein Schafbeweidungsgebiet am Deich entlang, vorbei am Pilsumer Leuchtturm in Richtung Greetsiel.

CAD_radtour_schleuse_leysiel_web_09.jpg
CAD_radtour_schleuse_leysiel_web_01.jpg

Da der Gegenwind auf dem Deich nicht zu unterschätzen ist, empfiehlt sich für diese Tour auch für sportliche Radler ein E-Bike, das Sie auf unserem Campingplatz mieten können.

Das Ziel – die Leysielschleuse – liegt an der Spitze der Landzunge, die die Leybucht zu großen Teilen eindeicht. Die Schleuse wurde zusammen mit dem Sperrwerk Leysiel im Jahr 1991 fertiggestellt und ist der einzige Weg aus dem Hafen Greetsiel in die Nordsee. Hier können Sie abends Fisch- und Krabbenkutter beobachten und eine Snackpause einlegen.

CAD_radtour_schleuse_leysiel_web_68.jpg

Ihr Feedback

Hat Ihnen die Tour gefallen? Teilen Sie Ihre Erfahrungen mit uns: feedback@fbcamping.de